Sugar House, one of the many suburbs of Salt Lake City, Utah, has a dynamic and colorful past. Named after a sugar mill that never produced any sugar, the suburb of Sugar House was home to the Old Utah State Prison from 1854 until 1951, when it was demolished to make way for the new Sugar House Park and Highland High School.
Sugar House Ward, settled shortly after the Mormon pioneers reached the valley of the Great Salt Lake in 1847, has always had ambiguous borders. However, the business district that grew up around Parley’s Creek and the intersection of 2100 south and 1100 east, remains to this day the vibrant heart of the area.
Railroad tracks from the silver mines, tales of escaped prisoners, hidden natural areas, and the ever-changing face of commerce all combine to make Sugar House the unique place that it is today.